Prizes and awards

Every year Cochrane awards members of its Community with a range of prizes that highlight high-quality methodological research, supporting health decision-making in developing countries, and contributors who have made a significant contribution to the organization.

A big congratulations to all the winners, who were announced at the 2023 Colloquium.

For any Prizes and Awards queries please email 


The Kenneth Warren Prize is awarded to the principal author of whichever Cochrane Review authored by a national living in a developing country is judged to be both of high methodological quality and relevant to health problems in developing countries.

2023 Kenneth Warren Prize Dr Rashmi Ranjan

Read more from 2023's Prize winner, Dr Rashmi Ranjan here


The Bill Silverman Prize is awarded to acknowledge explicitly the value of criticism of Cochrane, with a view to helping to improve its work, and thus achieve its aim of helping people make well-informed decisions about health care by providing the best possible evidence on the effects of healthcare interventions.

2023 Bill Silverman Prize: Yonggang Zhang

Read more from 2023's Bill Silverman Prize winner, Yonggang Zhang here


The Anne Anderson Award is awarded at each Cochrane Colloquium to a female member of Cochrane who has made a significant contribution to the enhancement and visibility of women's participation within Cochrane.

Anne Anderson Prize Winner - Madelon van Wely

Read more from 2023's Anne Anderson Award winner, Madelon van Wely here


The Chris Silagy Prize is awarded to an individual who has made an "extraordinary" contribution to the work of Cochrane which would not be recognised outside the scope of this prize.

2023 Chris Silagy Prize Winner - Muriah Umoquit

Read more from 2023's Chris Silagy Prize winner; Muriah Umoquit here


The Thomas C Chalmers Award is awarded to an early career investigator presenting on methodological issues at the Cochrane Colloquium. The presentations must demonstrate originality of thought, high-quality science, relevance to the advancement of the science of systematic reviews and clarity of presentation.

Best Short Oral

Read more from the 2023 winner of the Thomas C Chalmers award for best short oral presentation; Lynn Hendricks, here


Peter Godolphin

Read more from the 2023 winner of the Thomas C Chalmers award for best long oral presentation; Peter Godolphin, here


Please note that the Cochrane-REWARD prize did not take place this year.